标记档案: 摄影

Gorillapod SLR缩小审查

gorillapod-slr-zoom-2当你有一点点的小型照相机你可能会有一点小小的三角架是你用来在不同场合,但是从来没有发现任何东西足够强大的时候你有一种单反相机,除了一个完整的三脚架。 好你现在可以作为Joby已经创建了几个新的Gorillapod模型对于你的码单反相机。

Gorillapod SLR

该Gorillapd SLR是用于与消费者SLR如Canon350D到500D(叛军)或尼康D60的。 它能够保持一个摄像机和透镜的结合多达800克的。 它有能力的摄像机旋转回来的水平,如果其附圈后你不能做的Gorillapod单反相机。 它只165g(5.8盎司)本身,因此不重要,应该能够找到一个家庭在一个角落里的你的照相机袋子。 但有一些抱怨说,它枯萎对于某些单反相机,这是我的单反相机放进来。

Gorillapod单反相机放大

该Gorillapod SLR缩小是一个完全不同的水壶的鱼SLR用户相比,其年轻的小弟弟。 第一点要注意的是,它是一个更高的重量3000克(6.5英镑)这应该是足够的数码单反的,包括专业的模式。 它的主要用户最有可能是苏美尔的用户喜欢自己一个佳能40D或50D或康D90或相似,基本上镁健全的摄像机。 这3公斤的重量限制,它也可以举行一个相当大的透镜,如70-200F2。8但可能不多。

在使用其非常容易操纵和不正是你所希望的,它提供了一个稳定的平台为您单反相机。 在下面的图片它固定在一个花园的加热器、一个任务了大约15秒,没有滑动一英寸虽然这是附加的。 在这里,在镜头下面其保持一Canon40d和17 85lens其大约50%的重量的Gorillapod SLR缩小应该能够应付。

Gorillapod SLR Zoom

Gorillapod单反相机放大

橡胶围绕每个关节以及脚帮助保护其安全的任何目的和我没有任何问题发挥造成这向下垂的。 当然你不需要用你的摄像机可以使用的便携式摄像机或者与一个紧凑的如果这就是你想要的螺丝头也可用于专业级别工具包。

这是非常有用的时候做了一些工作与宏透镜,你没有空间来设置一个完整的三脚架,这真的不会有很多的使用,并很快设立。

它不完美但

对于初学者来说不同于其他模式在Gorillapod范围,它没有一个球合一个结束;这样,你可以看到镜头上就不能转到能水平,为这个你会需要一个小头让它旋转。 我已经用它与我的曼488RC2没有问题,虽然这不会加重于它具有应对,但它并管理带头采取的转变。

还当你用它你需要保证你拧紧它到底好,如果你不这样做就会下垂下如果你还没有意义你已经撤销它从什么它是连接,重试之前,不结束的世界,但它的最好避免的。

Gorillapod焦点 新模式

所以甚至不Gorillapod SLR放是对你不够那么,你需要更多吗? 嗯怎么样Gorillapod的焦点。 它是一个更高的5公斤的负载及其不塑料制出它的建造与经阳极化的青铜色完成铝,我有一个感觉这个是不会下垂多在所有如果有的话。 但是其不完全是光无论是作为其几乎两倍重量的单反相机放在500克,这就是尽的一些入门级的单反相机。 但是,它意味着适用于专业需要或想要一个Gorillipod,并准备进行额外的重和有300mm f2。8我们都希望。 但其超过三倍的价格比SLR缩小,我认为焦点名点更多的电影的要求于人们有一种单反相机,任何人的想法吗?

Gorillapod Focus

Gorillapod重点

结论--第8/10Gorillapod单反相机放大

总的这些都是一个伟大的小设备,以及价值增加到kit回来,它的用途是无穷无尽的,谁想要携带一个大的三周围如果他们可以避免这嘿。 但如前所述其不完美无论这就是为什么我没有给予充分的标记。 但它是强大的,足够的和胜任这项工作甚至重复使用后,这是最主要的。 我只是需要一个较轻的头去使用它和我离开的。 镜头下采取了通过将相机到一些栏杆而被停泊去九龙找到香港岛,看到它的工作。

需要一个摄像机取代一个富士F30,或者我的吗?

我们都要跟上当前的发展趋势和作为一个业余摄影师我想要更新我现在老龄问题的富士F30的。 现在,当它被推出了更多的称赞,任何其他小型照相机之前或之后真的。 它有一个6Mpix传感器和一个相当平均的镜头在36毫米至108(相当于35mm)但是,这不是聪明的一点,这是其低光的性能,每个人都是错的。

当时在一些论坛上人们在谈论它几乎SLR水平的减少噪音。 现在我已经有了一个佳能40D,它不能来接近,但作为第二个摄像头这一令人难以置信的工作,当你考虑的尺寸和重量的差异。 但是,具有加入Alamy扩展6meg图像从一个紧凑的,需的照片直到JPEG是艰难的,至少可以说,即使最好的100iso图像有小型的文物,尤其是当它们扩大到该决议Alamy希望。

但其新的照相机以得到什么?

我有一个快看看周围和下面列表中得到了短列出。 有些酒店的模式,可以甚至捕获的原别人优越的生活方式模型。 什么是我在寻找什么? 最低10Mpix,广角镜头28/24毫米,好的画面,不过大(我得到了一个单反对)和最后,但也许最重要的是,优越高的异性能。

[ad#postlinks]

这样的列表和一些原因,为什么最初的那些没有做到这一点。

Canon G9/G10 –G9没有足够广泛,真的,但这是很便宜的时刻,G10去24毫米,但它们都是太大的和重和相当昂贵的点额外惠益的总体时素窥视。 看看在肯罗克韦尔,看看他的比较值870/SD880的。

松下LX3 –一个伟大的小摄像机、放大镜头伸出虽然这么不小,因为它似乎与镜头盖可能是一个公平的麻烦对一个快速的P&S.但镜头好(大桶畸变的问题得到固定在软件LR或Silkpix)24毫米是F2和60mm是F2。8这样一个快速镜头,但不是长在60mm。 但他们都得来的购买和我是不是出售带粘镜头去一个牛仔裤口袋里及其相当昂贵,但它也会捕获的原料。 这是目前打击摄像机,用于2008年和我可以看看为什么。 但它没有从我。

富士F100fd– 精神的继承F30d或至少在同一血统。 它不是最好看的照相机,至少可以说,但它只是每一个其他方式蜱所有的箱子。 高异性能良好,但不是很大。 加上在只有英镑165从亚马逊一个讨价还价的真正和最近的获奖者dpreview.com 高级摄像机在运行到圣诞节。 这是一个可能

光线870/SD880 –现在,这可能是的一个。 小的、具有28毫米的镜头及其不太昂贵的(我已经结婚了所以,预算是重要的😉)它得到了很好的放大镜一10mpix传感器和良好的异性能。 在大约200英镑其不太昂贵,或者,这看上去很不错。 它还将获得CHDK上的广告在某一点,这将能够使额外的功能和甚至能够捕获的原始文件。

和获胜者是...?

如果我要得到一个摄像头的时刻,它会发光线870是,审查天知道有多少评论,其优胜者。 有些人甚至说为什么让一个10国集团当这并相同或更好地在许多情况下并与CHDK将能够捕捉原料。

但......... 什么有关F30?

好吧,我回去看看一些F30的评论,并得到了冲击。 噪声在高异的图像,为所有的摄像机上更糟糕的是较高的,他们去了。 样品他们在400iso和你已经可以看到的差异。 看看两个图像在下面的链接,看看你是怎么想的。 是的,一个是10mpix的光线870的其他6米的富士F30但肯定在最近2和一位年它可能被殴打甚至有更高的ISO。 但它似乎没有,甚至缩小的图片上的一些模型和运行它通过的噪声忍者不会得到这样好富士原来的。

这引出了一个问题如果不是万象素需要得到进Alamy是它实际上更好地留与F30,我仍然悬而未决。

光线870IS400

富士F30ISO400

[ad#后的照片]

Alamy去慢和第一次拒绝

art多长时间这是谈到流程图像上alamy的时刻? 答案很长,过圣诞节是可以理解的,但它仍然非常缓慢。 它说,你应该期望37hrs处理的图像,但是它更喜欢48小时甚至是那么你必须等待质量控制。 来吧Alamy你把大片的摄影师费至少你可以做的就是速度了一点东西。

和它还坏消息,在这些图像,没有管理得到质量控制阶段。 是我第一次的拒绝,但我可以理解为什么。 没有意识到这一点,我上传4拍摄的图像,从我富士F30,一个伟大的摄像头,但不足以应付所要求的Alamy很遗憾。

手指穿过其他会好的,但是当我听说他们已经接受的是任何人的猜测。 你在等待。 伤脑筋的回忆蕾丝

克鲁普勒松饼顶5500审查

所以一袋一袋的是,呃,没有,尤其是当他们有名字就像松饼顶上漂亮的男孩,他们不是。 我们都有自己的偏好对是什么让一个良好的相机包,让我们面对现实吧,如果你进入摄影你将有几乎一样多你的另一半,来吧你知道它的真实的。

所以这是最新加到我的收藏,松饼顶5500的。 它比我的第一个克鲁普勒袋通过一个相当的保证金,但一些如何它看起来并不或感觉到大其是伟大的。 我的第一个克鲁普勒是一个漂亮的男孩大(3000),这是良好的随身携带的仅仅是我的SLR(40D)但是不多的,真的。

克鲁普勒松饼顶5500和漂亮的男孩(L)侧

这是一个完全不同的故事,我现在可以携带的Canon40D(这是一个公平的比较大的比350/450D或叛军)的17-85kit镜头,30毫米f1。4Sigma和可能有1或2个其他的镜片你可以看到下面的图片。 它看起来像tardis在比较漂亮的男孩(L)这一斗争中开展的任何其他身体和套头的。

它非常好用相同的布之前和扩张的隔间在前面,你可以适应一些存储卡和其他位和鲍勃等一些过滤器。 我想你甚至可以把东西就像一个佳能70-200f/4L站垂直在袋子里没有太多的麻烦并且仍然有另外一个镜头上的套头的。

克鲁普勒松饼顶5500有40D+2镜头里面

所有所有如果你想要一袋中随身携带一个较大的单反喜欢的40D和几个镜头然后这个是你将永远需要。 它不会感觉沉重的软垫肩带和拥有足够的空间,在它没有这种感觉大,这感觉并不比这漂亮的小男孩以诚实一点很重要对我来说这不看起来像一个照相机袋子。 这最后一位独自作出这一选择对我来说,我真的不想看起来像一个目标走上街头的国家如果我没有和这个袋子你不知道。

所以对我来说我会得到它的10月10日,一个大袋子在一个非常合理的价格。

[ad#克鲁普勒袋]

备使用服务和无忧

所以你有很多照片和数据上你的电脑,你不能失去并需要一种方法来确保你的电脑和图像是备份正确。 但您也需要知道,你有数据的副本。

嗯这里是一个简单的指南,我怎么做,你需要什么

首先,本指南仅适用于Windows的电脑的总体上对不起,我知道很多人使用麦克,但目前的我不是但我肯定你可能可以使用的元素,这个指南。

Windows服务

它是什么和为什么你需要它吗? Windows服务器是一种软件,微软已经创建了专门用于家庭。 这是基于Windows服务器2003年版,但与许多功能简化为家庭。 它可以装在大多数老年人电脑的,我在一个古老的Dell P4桌面上有1gb的存储器和的够多的了。

然而,如果我买的东西专门为家庭服务器(WHS)我们一起来看看这个 宁静的服务 中。 它的成本大约英镑430和消耗低于40瓦的能源理想的东西你要想有开所有的时间。

Tranquil

所以现在你有你的家庭服务器,你们买它的货架或安装这东西你已经得到了,你准备好要走。

安装WHS连接器软件,在你的电脑–电脑备份

以获得下一个功能,你将需要的你必须安装WHS连接器的软件,这个上可以找到一个额外的CD,你应该已经到了或接到你的WHS并转到软件的分享,你将找到服务连接的软件。 安装这对每个人电脑在你的房子。

[ad#whs软]

WHS连接软件将做些事情,但本指南的目的主要事情是,它的conduate,以备每个电脑,您的家庭服务器。 它非常有效的储存这些数据,如果这份三Vista32位的机器都具有相同的贴水平,它只会保持一个复制系统数据的只是参照它对每个机。

你可以登录WHS通过连接和配置的备份的工作要做,每天、星期、月等等。 它将你唠叨如果你错过了备份窗口的通过表示的服务器为'关键'它不但是嘿你要爱Microsoft的时候。

[ad#后的照片]

重要的是–不要使用WHS到备份的照片音乐

一点要注意,我不用WHS软件的备份我的图像实际上我专门排除它们从进程。 为什么? 好速度的备份一和控制。 我使用一个同步的工具,以备我所有的图像、音乐和数据直接来家庭服务器,所以它可以看作是由其他客户。 如果你仅仅让WHS做备份本身,坐在一个特殊的文件上WHS,没有任何客户可以获得比其他通过WHS的。 不要忘记使用WHS媒体连接软件,该软件是设备符合你将能看到的照片或听到音乐通过一个兼容的媒体播放,如果你同步的WHS不使用WHS连接器的做备份。

同步的照片、音乐你WHS

转移你的图像和音乐到WHS我建议使用一些东西喜欢 MS SyncToy V2 你可以配这个你的心内容。 获得同步电脑WHS的唯一或两个方向上或刚刚检测到的变化在一个结束。 你也可以设立多转移。

我配置我的照片上的一个同步和音乐上的另一个相应目录上WHS,我把它关闭一周一次或所以当我们进行任何重大变化。 然后同步后完整的所有其他客户,看到了新的文件和可以使用他们,如果他们需要的,他看你有一个媒体服务器。

关闭网站备份的数据通过无忧

所以你必须建造和配置Windows服务器,增加的文件,它通过同步,它们从个人电脑和现在你需要采取的另一个副本只是在情况最糟糕的事情发生了,硬盘故障、火灾、盗窃你的名字,你真的想采取很多可爱的照片或撕裂你所有的CD失去了很多...... 没有我想没有。

所以你需要 无忧 或类似的服务。 我用无忧由于几个原因,它的工作原理在WHS,它允许无限制内(原因)的备用空间和不昂贵。 49美元一年或一年以89美元,用于2和现在135美元为3年,其极具竞争力尤其是当你考虑的储存,你可以使用。 目前,我有一个无人的小140gb空间使用及其仍在快速增长。 数据传输快速的恢复是我已经试过了也似乎被确定。

无忧WHS问题

它不是完美的,与WHS似乎有一个小的错误,当你允许WHS以跨越数据在多个磁盘本身,对于一些原因WHS不会回到他们。 无忧看到他们,如果他们是在其他驱动和他们呆在等待状态,它是一种耻辱,但它可以解决的。 如果你的数据存储在一个磁盘上或使用的RAID这样的操作系统不知道它在哪里都是好的,所以它不是一个大的事情,但值得一提。 你也可以开始,并停止的备份,如果你需要甚至告诉它的工作在一个较低的优先权,所以它不沼泽你的连接。

如果你想备视频文件还将需要选择他们的个人,一个麻烦,但至少你可以做到这一点。 我认为他们试图限制的空间,人们将使用但如果你有一个小型照相机,使视频你必须要确保通过每个目录,以确保他们的所有备份。

备份的时间对我来说已经不错,但请记住,一个典型的英国宽带上载的限制仅仅是256k不是6-8mb(6-8000k)下载你喜欢冲浪时的净和下载的事情。 如果你可以去到一个新的服务这样的人 是无限的 他们提供服务,让达1.5Mb上传的速度非常有用的,当你使用一个场外备份服务,如此。

结论

所以你去那里,你有一个三人有弹性的解决方案,将有你的数据,生活在三个地方。 你的电脑、家庭服务器和关闭网站。 这应该是多好足够的几乎任何人。 唯一其它的事情,我建议做的事情非常安全的,是采取一份自己的另一个硬盘驱动器,并采取它自己的网站,把它给另一家庭成员。 这会只是需要的,如果有一个问题无忧的一些排序以及为任何事情都是可能的,我不妨提到它。

所以你需要一个主Windows服务器,几个客户的电脑、媒体播放器,互联网连接、路由器,以及最后但绝不意味着至少有一些很棒的照片或音乐或其他数据,以利用这太简单了完备的解决方案。

有用的链接

我们得到的服务
Windows服务器–我们得到了服务部件
[ad#postlinks]

如果任何人有任何问题,我会很乐意回答他们的后在评论部分。

Visit Us On TwitterCheck Our Feed

Tag Archives: photography

Gorillapod SLR Zoom Review

gorillapod-slr-zoom-2When you had a little compact camera you might have had a little tiny tripod that you used on occasions but have never found anything strong enough when you got an SLR except for a full tripod. Well you can now as Joby has created a couple new Gorillapod models for your SLR.

Gorillapod SLR

The Gorillapd SLR is for use with a consumer SLR such as a Canon 350D to 500D (Rebel) or Nikon D60. Its capable of holding up a camera and lens combination of up to 800g. It has the ability to rotate the camera back to level if its attached to a lap post that you can’t do with the Gorillapod SLR. Its only 165g (5.8oz) itself, so not to heavy and should be able to find a home in a corner of your camera bag. But some have complained that it wilts for some SLRs and this is where the SLR Zoom comes in.

Gorillapod SLR Zoom

The Gorillapod SLR Zoom is a whole different kettle of fish for the SLR user compared to its younger smaller brother. The first thing to note is that its rated to a much higher weight 3000g (6.5lb) which should be enough for most SLR’s including professional models. Its main users are most likely to be Pro-sumer users like myself with a Canon 40D or 50D or a Nikon D90 or similar, essentially the magnesium bodied cameras. With that 3Kg weight limit it can also hold a pretty big lens such as a 70-200 F2.8 but probably not that much more.

In use its very easy to manipulate and does exactly what you would hope for, it provides a stable platform for your SLR camera to sit. In the picture below its fixed onto a garden heater, a task that took about 15 seconds and it didn’t slip a inch whilst it was attached. Here in the shot below its holding a Canon 40d and 17-85lens which is about 50% of the weight the Gorillapod SLR Zoom should be able to cope with.

Gorillapod SLR Zoom

Gorillapod SLR Zoom

The rubber around each articulating joint and the feet help secure it to any object and I’ve not had any issues with play causing it to sag. Of course you don’t have to use it with your Camera it can be used with a Camcorder or with a compact if thats what you want the screw head can also be used with Pro level kit as well.

It is very useful when doing some work with a Macro lens and you don’t have the space to setup a full tripod, it really does have a lot of uses and is very quick to set up.

Its not perfect though

For starters unlike the other models in the Gorillapod range it doesn’t have a ball joint a the end; so as you can see in the shot above it can’t rotate to be level, for this you are going to need a small head to allow it to rotate. I’ve used it with my Manfrotto 488 RC2 without problem although this does add to the weight that it has to cope with, but it does manage with the head taking the rotational strain.

Also when you use it you need to ensure that you tighten it up to the base well as if you don’t it will sag downwards if you haven’t meaning you have undo it from what ever it was attached, before retrying, not the end of the world but its best avoided.

Gorillapod Focus – New model

So not even the Gorillapod SLR Zoom is enough for you then, you need more? Well how about the Gorillapod Focus. Its rated to an even higher load of 5Kg and its not made out of plastic its constructed with Anodized gunmetal finished aluminium, I have a feeling this one isn’t going to sag much at all if ever. But its not exactly light either as its almost twice the weight of the SLR Zoom at 500g, thats as much as some of the entry level SLR’s. But its meant for the Pro that needs or wants a Gorillipod and is prepared to carry the extra weight and has that 300mm f2.8 we all want. But its more than three times the price than the SLR Zoom, I think the focus name points more to its Movie requirements than people with an SLR, thoughts anyone?

Gorillapod Focus

Gorillapod Focus

Conclusion  – 8/10 Gorillapod SLR Zoom

Overall these are a great little device and well worth adding into your kit back, its uses are endless and who wants to carry a big tripod around if they can avoid it hey. But as mentioned its not perfect either which is why I’ve not given it full marks. But it is strong enough and up to the job even after repeated use which is the main thing. I just need a lighter head to go with it and I’m away. The shot below was taken by attaching the camera to some railings whilst being moored off Kowloon looking onto Kong Kong island, see it works.

Need a camera to replace a Fuji F30, or do I?

We all like to keep up with current trends and as an amateur photographer I wanted to update my now ageing Fuji F30. Now when it was launched it had more plaudits that any other Compact Camera before or since really. It had a 6Mpix sensor and a fairly average lens at 36mm to 108mm (35mm equivalent) but that wasn’t the clever bit, it was its low light performance, that everyone was staggered at.

At the time in some forums people were talking it up to almost SLR levels of noise reduction. Now I’ve got a Canon 40D and it can’t come close , but as a second camera it does an incredible job when you consider the size and weight difference. But having joined Alamy up scaling 6meg images from a compact that takes pictures straight to JPEG is tough to say the least, even the very best 100iso images have small artefacts especially when they are scaled up to the resolution Alamy wants.

But Which New Camera To Get?

I had a quick look around and the list below got short-listed. Some are Enthusiast models that can even capture RAW others Premium more lifestyle models. What was I looking for? Minimum 10Mpix, Wide angle Lens 28/24mm, good screen, not too big (I’ve got an SLR for that) and last but maybe most important, excellent high ISO performance.

[ad#postlinks]

So to the list and a few reasons why the initial ones didn’t make it.

Canon G9/G10 – G9 didn’t go wide enough really but it is quite cheap at the moment, G10 went to 24mm but they are both too big and heavy and fairly expensive for the little extra benefit overall when you pixel peep. Have a look over to Ken Rockwell to see his comparison with the IXUS 870 / SD880.

Panasonic LX3 – A great little camera, zoom lens sticks out though so not as small as it seem and the lens cover could be a fair hassle for a quick P&S. But the lens is good (Big barrel distortion issues get fixed in software LR or Silkpix) 24mm is F2 and 60mm is F2.8 so a fast lens but not long at 60mm. But they are had to come buy and I wasn’t sold with the sticky out lens to go in a jeans pocket and its quite pricey but then it will also capture RAW. This is the current hit camera for 2008 and I can see why. But its a no from me.

Fuji F100fd – The spiritual successor to the F30d or at least in the same bloodline. Its not the best looking camera to say the least but it just about every other way it ticks all the boxes. High ISO performance is good but not great though. Plus at only £165 from Amazon a bargain really and a recent winner of dpreview.com Premium Cameras in the run up to Christmas. This is a Maybe

Canon IXUS 870 IS / SD880 – Now this could be the one. Its small, has a 28mm lens and its not too expensive (I’m married so budget is important 😉 ) Its got a good zoom lens an 10mpix sensor and good ISO performance. At approx £200 its not too expensive either and it looks great. It will also get the CHDK ad on at some point, this will enable extra features and even the ability to capture RAW files.

And the winner is…?

If I am going to get a camera at the moment it will be the Canon IXUS 870 IS, reviewing goodness knows how many reviews its the winner. Some even say why get a G10 when this does the same or better in many situations and with CHDK will be able to capture RAW.

BUT……… what about the F30?

Well I went back and look at some F30 reviews and got a shock. The noise on high ISO images for ALL of the cameras above is worse the higher they go. Sample them at 400iso and you can already see the difference. Have a look at the two images in the links below and see what you think. Yes one is 10mpix the Canon IXUS 870 the other 6m on the Fuji F30 but surely in the last 2 and a bit years it could be beaten even with a higher ISO. But it appears not, even shrinking the picture on some models and running it through Noise Ninja won’t get it as good as the Fuji original.

It begs the question if it wasn’t for the Mpix needed to get into Alamy is it actually better to stay with the F30, I’m still undecided.

Canon IXUS 870 IS IS400

Fuji F30 ISO400

[ad#post-picture]

Alamy go slow and first rejection

artHow long is it talking to process images on alamy at the moment? Answer very long, over Christmas is understandable but its still very slow. It says you should expect 37hrs for the processing of images but its more like 48hrs and even then you have to wait for the QC. Come on Alamy you are taking a bigger slice of the photographers royalty the least you can do is speed things up a bit.

And its also bad news on those images that did manage to get to the QC stage. Yes my first rejection, but I can understand why. Without realising it I uploaded 4 images taken from my Fuji F30, a great camera but not good enough to cope with the requirements of Alamy unfortunately.

Fingers crossed the rest will be ok, but when I hear they have been accepted is anyones guess. Yours waiting. unspool reminiscences lace

Crumpler Muffin Top 5500 Review

[singlepic id=1 w=320 h=240 mode=watermark float=left]

So a bag is a bag is it, erm no, especially when they have names like Muffin Top and Pretty Boy they aren’t. We all have our own preferences on what makes a good camera bag and lets face it if you are into photography you will have almost as many as your other half, come on you know its true.

So this is the latest addition to my collection, the Muffin Top 5500. Its larger than my first Crumpler bag by quite a margin but some how it doesn’t look or feel to big which is great. My first Crumpler was a Pretty Boy Large (3000) which was good to carry around just my SLR (40D) but not much more really.

Crumpler Muffin top 5500 and Pretty boy (L) side by side

[singlepic id=9 w=240 h=200 mode=watermark float=left] [singlepic id=8 w=240 h=200 mode=watermark float=right]

This is a whole different story, I can now carry the Canon 40D (Which is a fair bit bigger than a 350/450D or Rebel) with the 17-85kit lens attached, a 30mm f1.4 Sigma and maybe 1 or 2 other lenses as you can see from the picture below. It looks like the tardis in comparison to the Pretty boy (L) that struggle to carry anything other than the body and the kit lens.

Its very well made with the same fabric as before and the expandable compartment at the front that you can fit a few memory cards in and other bits and bobs like some filters. I think you could even put something like a Canon 70-200 f/4 L standing vertically in the bag without too much trouble and still have room for another lens on top of the kit lens.

Crumpler Muffin top 5500 with 40D+2 Lenses inside

[singlepic id=2 w=240 h=200 mode=watermark float=none] [singlepic id=3 w=240 h=200 mode=watermark float=none] [singlepic id=4 w=240 h=200 mode=watermark float=none]

All in all if you want a bag to carry around a larger SLR like the 40D and a few lenses then this is all you will ever need. It doesn’t feel heavy with the padded shoulder strap and has plenty of room in it without it feeling big, it doesn’t feel much bigger than the Pretty Boy to be honest and an important point for me it doesn’t ‘look’ like a camera bag. This last bit alone made it a top choice for me, I don’t really want to look like a target walking around the streets of foreign countries if I don’t have to and with this bag you don’t.

So for me I’d give it 10/10, a great bag at a very reasonable price.

[ad#crumpler-bag]

Backup using Homeserver and Carbonite

So you have loads of photos and data on your PC that you can’t afford to lose and need a method to ensure that both your PC and your images are backup up correctly. But you also need to know that you have a copy of the data off-site.

Well here is a simple guide on how I do it and what you need

Firstly this guide is only useful for Windows PC’s on the whole sorry, I know plenty of people use mac’s but currently I don’t but I’m sure you might be able to use elements of this guide.

Windows Homeserver

What is it and why do you need it? Windows Home Server is a piece of software that Microsoft have created specifically for the home. It’s based on Windows 2003 Server edition but with many of the features simplified for the home.  It can be installed on most older PC’s, I’m running it on an old Dell P4 desktop with 1Gb of memory and that’s more than enough.

However if I was buying something dedicated to Home Server (WHS) I’d have a look at one of these Tranquil Homeserver . It costs about £430 and consumes less than 40w of energy ideal for something you are going to want have switched on all the time.

Tranquil

So now you have your Home Server, you have bought it off the shelf or installed it on something you have already got and you are ready to go.

Install WHS connector software on your PC – PC Backup

To get the next feature that you will need you have to install the WHS connector software, this can be found on an additional CD that you should have got or connect to your WHS and go to the Software share and you will find the Homeserver connect Software there. Install this on each PC in your house.

[ad#whs-soft]

The WHS Connect software will do several things but the purpose of this guide the main thing is that its the conduate to backup each PC to your home server. Its extremely efficient at storing this data, if it backs up three Vista 32bit machines all with the same patch levels it will only hold one copy of the OS data and just reference it for each machine.

You can log onto the WHS via the connector and configure the backup’s to be done each day, week, month etc. and it will nag you if you miss the backup window by showing the server as ‘Critical’ its not but hey you got to love Microsoft sometimes.

[ad#post-picture]

Important – Don’t use WHS to Backup Photos / music

One point to note, I don’t use the WHS software to backup my images in fact I specifically exclude them from the process. Why? Well speed of the backup for one and control being the other. I use a syncing tool to backup all my images, music and data directly to the home server so it can be viewed by other clients. If you only let the WHS do the backup itself it sits in a special file on the WHS that none of the clients can get access to other than via WHS. Don’t forget using WHS Media Connect software which is DLNA compliant you will be able to view the photos or listen to music via a compatible media player if you sync to the WHS not use the WHS Connector to do the backup.

Syncing Photos, Music to your WHS

To transfer your images and music to the WHS I suggest using something like MS SyncToy V2 you can configure this to your hearts content. Get to sync from the PC to the WHS only or both directions or just detect changes on one end. You can also set up multiple transfers.

I configure my Photos on one sync and Music on another to the corresponding directory on the WHS, I set it off once a week or so when I have carried out any major changes. Then after the sync is complete all the other clients and see the new files and can use them if they need to, he presto you have a media server.

Off-Site backup of your data via Carbonite

So you have constructed and configured your Windows Home Server, added files to it by syncing them from a PC and now you need to take another copy just in case the worst happened, Hard disk failure, fire, theft you name it, do you really want to take lots of lovely photos or rip all your CD’s to lose the lot…… no I thought not.

So you need Carbonite or a similar service. I use carbonite for several reasons, it works on WHS, it allows for unlimited (within reason) backup space and its not expensive. At $49 a year or $89 for 2 and now $135 for 3 years its extremely competitive especially when you consider the storage you can use. Currently I have a none to small 140Gb of space used up and its still growing fast. The data transfer is quick and the restore’s I’ve tried also seem to be ok.

Carbonite WHS Issues

Its not perfect, with WHS there seems to be a small bug when you allow WHS to span data across multiple disks itself, for some reason WHS won’t back them up. Carbonite sees them as if they are on other drives and they stay in a wait state, its a shame but it can be solved. If you store the data on one disk or use RAID so the OS doesn’t know where it is all is fine, so its not a big thing but worth mentioning. You can also start and stop the backup if you need to and even tell it to work on a lower priority so it doesn’t swamp your connection.

If you want to backup video files you will also need to select them individually, a hassle but at least you can do it. I think they are trying to limit the space people will use but if you have a compact camera that makes videos you are going to have to make sure you go through each directory to ensure they are all being backed up.

Backup times for me have been fine but remember that a typical UK broadband upload limit is only 256k not the 6-8Mb (6-8000k) download you enjoy when surfing the net and downloading things. If you can go to one of the newer services from someone like Be Unlimited they offer a service that gives up to 1.5Mb upload speeds very useful when you are using an off-site backup service such as this.

Conclusion

So there you go, you have a triple resilient solution that will have your data living in three places. Your PC, the Home Server and off site. This should be more than good enough for just about anyone. The only other thing that I’d advise to make things very secure is take a backup yourself to another hard drive and take it off site yourself, give it to another family member. This would only be needed if there was an issue with Carbonite of some sort and as anything is possible I might as well mention it.

So you need a Windows Home server, a couple of PC clients, a media player, an internet connection, router, and last but by no means least some great photos or music or other data to take advantage of this easy peasy full backup solution.

Useful Links

We Got Served
Windows Home Server – We Got Served – Widgets
[ad#postlinks]

If anyone has any questions I’d be happy to answer them post away in the comments section.

Visit Us On TwitterCheck Our Feed